Bad, bad name

Posted on November 19, 2006

0


november-2006-010.jpg 

In conjunction with my morning/evening showers, my mind has repetitively been occupied by a big ‘why’ for a quite some time. The reason is in the picture above.

I appreciate things get lost in translation sometimes and that certain words carry different meanings in different languages, which explains why marketing messages don’t always travel well. But still, I am wondering why a textile manufacturer in Indonesia would choose the beaver of all the creatures on this planet to represent its new towel line, given this animal/word is unlikely to evoke entirely literal associations in English-speaking markets. Why?

What you may be asking yourself now is what this towel and 10 or so identical ones are doing in my home in the first place. I’m afraid I don’t have a good answer to that question.  

Posted in: General